The Frisco Chamber of Commerce honored outstanding businesses, organizations, and citizens at its Annual Awards Celebration on Sunday, February 6, 2022, at the Embassy Suites Dallas-Frisco Hotel, Conference Center & Spa in Frisco. The theme this year, “Celebrate You,” honored the entire Frisco and area business community and was attended by over 600 of Frisco’s most influential business and community leaders.

Nominations were accepted for this year’s business awards in October of 2021. Applications were reviewed and judged by a cross-section of Frisco business professionals that comprised the review committee. In addition to the business awards, the Frisco Chamber President and Chair of the Board each recognized individuals that have made a significant difference to the Frisco Chamber of Commerce during the past year.

“Over the past two years, we’ve all faced incredible challenges and have risen to the occasion. It is always a pleasure and even more so this year to bring businesses and citizens together to celebrate each other’s successes,” said Tony Felker, President/CEO of the Frisco Chamber of Commerce. “This event allows us the opportunity to showcase the many businesses and individuals that make Frisco the best place not only to do business but to live as well!”

The Annual Awards Celebration was presented by Texas Health Hospital Frisco. In addition to the awards ceremony, the evening also included a cocktail hour with interactive photo opportunities and an opportunity to win raffle items donated by the local business community.

“The Texas Health Frisco family is excited to have been a part of such a wonderful event honoring our partners in our local business community.  We know that Frisco is a very special place to live and work, and this unique environment only continues to thrive due to the outstanding and diverse companies that serve as the engine,” said Brett Lee, President of Texas Health Hospital Frisco.  “We look forward to continuing to grow with Frisco and to serve this community for years to come.” 

Three Frisco citizens were also recognized for their commitment to and enhancement of the community – Citizen of the Year,  Legacy Award (formerly Silver Citizen of the Year), and Spirit of Frisco.

This year, two Visionary Awards were presented. This special award has only been given to two other individuals in the Chamber’s history – one to Former Mayor Harold Bacchus and Former Frisco ISD Superintendent Rick Reddy. At the event, Felker said, “First we recognized Sam Roach and his contributions to Frisco, and it is very rare to give a Visionary Award at these events…much less two of them in one night; however, sometimes timing is what it is!” Felker awarded the second Visionary Award of the night to Frisco’s City Manager, George Purefoy, who is retiring in June of 2022 after 34 years of service.  

Many sponsors made the event successful. “The Annual Awards Celebration would not be possible without our generous sponsors,” Felker said. Sponsors included: Innovator Sponsors – Baylor Scott & White Centennial, Credit Union of Texas, and HALL Park; Visionary Sponsor – Altair Global; Entertainment Sponsors – CoServ, Tumbleweed TexStyles, and Verona Villa; Parking Sponsor – Garver, LLC; Lounge Sponsors – Blackshaw Partners LLC and Texas Republic Bank; and Award Sponsors –  Baylor Scott & White Centennial, BKM Sowan Horan, Frisco Station, and Oncor.

The 2021 Frisco Chamber of Commerce Award Winners

Ambassador Team of the Year:

White’s Warriors, led by Sharon White

Ambassador of the Year:

Chauny Shivers

Developer of the Year:


Entrepreneur of the Year:

Jeb Matulich and Brian Wyson, Tumbleweed TexStyles

Emerging Leader of the Year:

Sangita Datta

Employer of the Year:

The Cheney Group, Monument Realty

Innovator of the Year:

City of Frisco

Non-Profit of the Year:

National Breast Cancer Foundation, Inc

Significant Contributor to the Arts:

North Texas Performing Arts

Significant Contributor to Sports:

Town & Country Roofing and Construction

Volunteer of the Year Award:

Jenny Dowdy

Small Business of the Year:

Ann Anderson Insurance

Medium Business of the Year:

Simmons Bank

Large Business of the Year:

IKEA Frisco

President’s Award:

Frisco STYLE Magazine

Chairman’s Award:

John Talkington, Apex Networking Solutions, Inc

Legacy Award:

Former Frisco Mayor Mike and Sandy Simpson

Spirit of Frisco Award:

Sunitha Cheruvu

Citizen of the Year:

Earnest B. Morgan

Help support women in need

Donations are always appreciated, but there are lots of great ways to get involved.